tallchick

Pavlov's Daughter

Does anyone else think this song is a masterpiece?

The grave diggers getting stuck in the machine

pickings getting slim, slimmer

I hear them say my name

regin-ah, regin-ah, regin-a-ah

yes I'm putting the boulder to my ear

and I still can't hear

whadya think I was an amateur

playin' with my temperature...

If I hear another song about angels

if I see another feather on the dumb-box

I'm gonna go to Babylon and get me some whiskey

Gonna get me some whiskey now...

I'm gonna go to Babylon and get me some whiskey now

My name is Lucille and I know how you feel

I live downstairs

I hear you taking out your garbage

I hear you loving your girlfriend

I hear you loving yourself too

I hear you turning your thoughts off

I turn mine off too

The only thing I hear is you

and you don't sound good and you don't sound nice

and you don't sound good and you don't sound right

and it get's quiet...

Pavlov's daughter woke up in the morning

Heard the bell ring

And something deep inside of her made her want to salivate

So she lay there drooling on her pillow

So she lay there, the sun skimming her skin, and drooling on her pillow

Pavlov's daughter

And it was far away and hazy like a dream

not a dream, but the ocean,

not the ocean, but forever...

The grave diggers getting stuck in the machine...

...And it gets quiet...

As quiet as an ambulance checking out the neighborhood, waiting for the blade to slip and that final blow, but nothing happens, it's a cruel joke

as ironic as a ticker tape parade over the rain forest,

as ironic as a ticker tape parade over my head,

as ironic as a ticker tape parade over my head going down stream... to where...it isn't... even... real...rain... at...all...

I mean the ending is just amazing. I love listening to this as a bunch of images merge into my head. I see two different scenes, The first one with Lucille and the other with Pavlov's daughter.