Sign in to follow this  
lovely little melodies

so apparently being original makes you a freak?

So I have these "friends". They're okay I guess, a couple of them I'm really close with, others... not so much. Anyways, I've typically gone with the popular trends of music and clothes that my friends would follow, but a few months ago that's changed.

Instead of listening to that crap on the radio [no offense to the people who like it Smiler] I discovered regina and a whole different genre of music I've been neglecting for the past 14 years of my life. Also, I started developing my own interests and style.

This all sounds great except for one thing... my friends don't "approve". When I finally built up enough confidence to stop hiding what was on my ipod they all thought I was really weird for listening to regina's music (even though they have no idea what is sounds like). They think it's weird to like literature and that I'm into photography. AAAH! I know this is terribly long but this section of the forum is called "rants" am I right? Anyways I just don't know how to deal with them, I am me and I don't want to be a drone like them, but at the same time I NEED friends in school. What do I do?

So I have these "friends". They're okay I guess, a couple of them I'm really close with, others... not so much. Anyways, I've typically gone with the popular trends of music and clothes that my friends would follow, but a few months ago that's changed.

Instead of listening to that crap on the radio [no offense to the people who like it Smiler] I discovered regina and a whole different genre of music I've been neglecting for the past 14 years of my life. Also, I started developing my own interests and style.