Sign in to follow this  
Mr_Bont

School Is Out

Hello, it's my first time posting in the forums and I just gotta say I love Regina Spektor! Now, down to business. One of my all time favorite songs of hers is School Is Out from her 1999 demo tape and I notice that no one really mentions it on the forums. So I was wondering if any one else really loves this song and what they think the song is about?

For those you don't know the song here are the lyrics:

School is out

And I walk the empty hallways

I walk alone

Alone as always

There's so many lucky pennies

Lying on the floor

But where the hell are all the lucky people

I can't see them any more

And there's such a nasty smell

In the bathroom

The people float by

While the toilets are flushing

And there's all this shit written on the bathroom wall

With a leaky pen

And Lisa loves Jason

Oh, Jason loves Ben

And a letter from Michigan

Is sittin' on my desk

And I remember one (thought?)

But I forget all the rest

And the ice cream is melted

And dripping down my neck

And my bottles standing on the edge of the table

And I think it's in the mood to brea-a-a-a-k

Me, just brea-a-a-a-k

Me, just, just break me

And I messed myself up again

Nobody really cares

I wish I could just have some time

To play with my old teddy bear

And maybe I could go

To teddy bear heaven

Just like her

'Cause well, she went when she was eleven

But I stayed late

'Cause I can't understand physics

I don't want to go home

And cook myself dinner

Or look in the mirror

That big, fat mirror

That swallows me up in a corridor

Oh, just swallows me whole

And cha-chang goes a robber

And cha-chang goes the gun

And cha-chang goes the bittersweet

Judgmental nun

cha-chang goes the gun

And cha-chang goes the purse

And cha-chang goes the over-fucked

Registered nu-u-u-urse

Me, just nu-u-u-urse

Me, just, just nurse me

School is out

I walk alone

Alone as always

Lying on the floor

Where the hell are all the lucky people